top of page

Jury Members of the 77th Cannes Film Festival

The Cannes Film Festival jury has been announced, with eight members joining president Greta Gerwig to decide the Palme d’Or and other prizes at the 77th edition.

They include US actress Lily Gladstone, the first Native American Oscar nominee for Best Actress; Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda, a Palme d’Or winner; French actress Eva Green; French actor and producer Omar Sy; Lebanese director Nadine Labaki; Spanish director J.A. Bayona; Italian actor Pierfrancisco Favino; and Turkish screenwriter Ebru Ceylan, collaborator of Nuri Bilge Ceylan.

The competition lineup includes Sean Baker’s "Anora," Ali Abbasi’s "The Apprentice," Andrea Arnold’s "Bird," Yorgos Lanthimos’ "Kinds of Kindness," Paul Schrader’s "Oh, Canada," Paolo Sorrentino’s "Parthenope," David Cronenberg’s "The Shrouds," and Coralie Fargeat’s "The Substance." All eyes are on Francis Ford Coppola’s "Megalopolis," marking his return to Cannes at 85, where he previously won two Palme d’Or awards.

Three more films were added to the competition: Michel Hazanavicius’ "The Most Precious of Cargoes," Emanuel Parvu’s "Trois kilomètres jusqu’à la fin du monde," and Mohammad Rasoulof’s "The Seed of the Sacred Fig." Oliver Stone will present his documentary "Lula" in the Out of Competition section.

Xavier Dolan heads the Un Certain Regard jury, while Lubna Azabal leads the Cinefondation and Short Films Competition jury, and Baloji heads the Camera d’Or jury.

The Palme d’Or winner will be announced at the festival’s closing ceremony on May 25.

Photo: Carrie Dorean


bottom of page