top of page

Cannes International Film Week Unveils Award Winners for the 2024 Edition

The Cannes International Film Week concludes on May 31, celebrating a fortnight of cinematic excellence. Over the past two weeks, the festival showcased 75 films from across the globe. Festival curator Kris De Meester remarked, “This festival is dedicated to introducing independent film gems to curators, sales agents, and film distributors. This inaugural Cannes edition has opened doors to the industry and laid the groundwork for a promising future. Our ambition for the next edition is to double or even triple the number of selected films, further opening doors for new visionaries who might otherwise be overlooked.”

Cannes International Film Week is a pioneering digital streaming film festival, operating independently yet concurrently with the prestigious Cannes Film Festival. Held during the zenith of the film industry calendar, Cannes International Film Week offers filmmakers an unparalleled opportunity to showcase their creations to the Cannes audience. IndieWrap highlighted the festival in a cover article, stating, “This festival is about embracing the future of film, the digital landscape, and the unexplored potential it holds.” Similarly, Final Cut Magazine praised the selection procedure, noting, “It’s a thoughtfully designed festival that values the artistry of film over commerce.”

Today, Cannes International Film Week is thrilled to announce the winners of the 2024 edition. From 75 extraordinary films from around the world, the jury panel has selected the following winners:

‘Cannes Auteur Award’©

For elevating the craft of filmmaking through visionary storytelling and artistic excellence.

Vincent Fontano for the film ‘Sèt Lam’ (France)

‘Cannes Acteur Award’©

For advancing the medium of acting by embracing simplicity, creating deeply resonant and authentic portrayals.

Elie Ohanna in ‘A Broken Fan (Before the Big Collapse)’ (Lebanon) by Assaad Khoueiry

‘Cannes Lumière Award’©

For expertly transforming light and image into a motion picture.

Nojus Drasutis for ‘-15’ (Lithuania) by Rinaldas Tomasevicius

‘Cannes Avant-Garde Award’©

For favoring or introducing new and experimental ideas and methods.

Michael William West for the film ‘The Dream Machine’ (France)

Best Narrative Feature Film

‘Sleeping Close’ (Italy) by Giulio Pereno

Best Documentary Feature Film

‘Chaylla’ (France) by Clara Teper, Paul Pirritano

Best Narrative Short Film

‘Sèt Lam’ (France) by Vincent Fontano

Best Documentary Short Film

‘My Dear’ (Portugal) by Aragon Yao

Best Experimental Film

‘Time Capsule’ (United States) by Lauren Loesberg

Best Underground Film

‘Berlin Bytch Love’ (Germany) by Heiko Aufdermauer, Johannes Girke

Best Essay Film

‘Algorithms of Beauty’ (Belgium) by Miléna Trivier

Best Animated Film

‘Nature Attack’ (France) by Erik Semashkin

Best Music Video

‘They Are Watching You’ (France) by Quentin Bernard

Best Film Audience Award

‘Sleeping Close’ (Italy) by Giulio Pereno

Best Connecting Cultures Award

‘Destiny’ (Iran) by Yaser Talebi

Congratulations to all the winners!

For more information on Cannes International Film Week, visit:


bottom of page